The Film Agency is pleased to announce another great international success of a Macedonian film. The short film “Scout” directed by Alex Cvetkov has been selected in the competitive program at one of the largest short film festivals in the world – “L.A. Shorts”, which runs July 17 – 25 in Los Angeles, California.
The upcoming 23rd edition of the festival “L.A. Shorts” in the official competition includes the Macedonian film “Scout” directed by Alex Cvetkov. “L.A. Shorts” is an official qualifying event for the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) short film awards. Award-winners at the festival are eligible to win BAFTA’s and most of the films selected at this festival are almost every year part of the prestigious Oscar selection. A total of 58 LA Shorts filmmakers have earned Academy Award nominations, with 15 taking home the Oscar.

“Scout” by Alex Cvetkov is a 15-minutes ultra-modern drama in which the central character is the professional motor racer Gus, who driven by his ambitions loses what he loves the most.

The film is produced by “Novo Makedonsko Video” (Sašo Pesev) and in co-production with Igor Nola and “MF Production” from Croatia and Rok Cvetkov and Vanja Sremac from Slovenia. The film is financially supported by the North Macedonia Film Agency.
The film is written and directed by Alex Cvetkov with Dejan Dimeski as a director of photography. The cast includes: Moses Gomes-Santos, Ula Furlan, Domagoj Jankovic, Robert Spanic, Hoji Fortuna.

Alex Cvetkov is a young director studying at the New York Film Academy in Los Angeles. Cvetkov has directed several ads, music videos and short films, and as a screenwriter and director, he was part of several important film festivals in America.

“Scout” premiered at the closing ceremony of last year’s edition of the International Cinematographer’s Film Festival “Manaki Brothers”.
The International Short Film Festival “L.A. Shorts” ranks among the most prestigious and largest international short film festivals in the world. The festival is accredited by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the British Academy of Film and Television Arts and the Academy of Canadian Cinematography and Television.

“L.A. Shorts” is the first and longest running short film festival in Los Angeles. The festival attracts over 8,000 attendees each year including Hollywood industry professionals and emerging undiscovered independent filmmakers. 2018 Oscar nominees included 4 films from LA Shorts, 2017 Oscar nominees included 3 films from LA Shorts, 2016 Oscar winners in Live Action Short and Animated Short from LA Shorts.
Those who have been honored at the festival include directors Jon Favreau, Paul Haggis, Bryan Singer, Jan de Bont, Shane Black, and actors Gary Oldman, James Woods, Martin Landau and Richard Dreyfuss.
Many recognized actors and directors have screened films and attended the festival such as Scarlett Johansson, Demi Moore, Ashton Kutcher, Courteney Cox, Tim Burton, Jason Reitman, Terry Gilliam, Spike Jonze, Eva Mendes, Jessica Biel, Rachel Weisz, Hilary Swank, Josh Brolin, Kirsten Dunst, Rita Wilson, Ralph Macchio, Ricky Gervais, Vin Diesel and many others.